More from Prevention.com: Find Your Perfect Dance WorkoutZumba Gold has all the fun and energy of the Latin-inspired dance-cardio class, but performed at a lower intensity. Just don’t mistake that for a low-sweat workout– you’ll still burn lots of calories while staying healthy and active. (For more low-impact workout ideas, check out Low-Impact Workouts With Big Calorie Burn.)“The reason our program is so good is that it taps into music and movement, so it’s exercise in disguise," Prouty says. “Before we know it we’re warming up all of the joints. We’re using all of the muscles. We‘re using the core. Oh my goodness, we’re using the heart and the lungs!”I asked the spunky, Florida-based instructor to share her ageless secrets for moving and grooving:Q: What if I have the dancer’s double curse: no rhythm and previous injuries?A: Problems with the knees and ankles are part of the aging process, I hate to say. We perhaps don’t do fast pivoting turns, we’ll come back and have more stabilization between movement patterns. But I don’t think we lose any of the excitement. Just have fun and move at you own pace.Q: If you taught exercise classes in the ’80s, you probably have some embarrassing moments to share… spill! A: In retrospect, wearing thongs and triple leg warmers and headbands and a belt to match…I’m embarrassed when I see pictures of myself!Q: But Zumba garb can be just as flashy. What’s with all the neon? A: People will come in and start out with the safe black, and then all of a sudden it’s a splash of color here and a splash of color there. They realize that the splashes of color are fun, so before you know it, they are in lime green pants like I was yesterday. More from Prevention.com: Get a Dancer’s BodyQ: What keeps you motivated?A: I taught my first exercise class when I was 23 years old. I have 7 grandchildren now, and I want to be able to enjoy them, be active with them. I want to have the freedom to be as independent as I can be for my whole life. And I think that that’s many baby boomers’ goal. In addition to all the great health benefits, the Gold program brings a huge social aspect. Participants become best friends. They look out for each other because we know as people age they lose loved ones and friends. The wonderful thing about this program is we see people bonding—they have to show up because if not, their friends miss them and check in on them. Q: How can I make sure I’ll be dancing in my 70s?A: I work out at least 5 days a week. I lift weights, I’m fit. I still dance… I can’t not dance. And here I am at 71. I am so happy and working so much and having so much fun. And it’s nice to maybe recognize that you have some wisdom as well as some abilities to dance and to still move. It’s a plus.  [Getting older] doesn’t mean it’s over.