Here’s the thing about varicose veins: They only get worse over time—but they don’t have to. One simple treatment can be all it takes to make them go away, something Sanders is proof of. We sat down with her to talk about why varicose veins are something you need to address, sooner rather than later.  Prevention: When did you first realize something was wrong?  Summer Sanders: I first noticed my varicose veins when I was pregnant with my second child, and I’d always thought that it was something that affected older, inactive people. I looked at my lifestyle and thought, “I can’t be a candidate for this.” Eventually, the pain became something I couldn’t ignore. What are some signs of venous insufficiency? Do you put your feet up? Do you feel this heaviness in your legs, like a toothache but in your legs? I did, and I’d also subconsciously massage my calf—something I didn’t remember doing until I learned about the symptoms.  Sounds like it’s something that could be easy to miss… Yes! People see the vein and say, “Oh, I’m getting varicose veins. This is just a sign of me getting older.” Or they write it off as a cosmetic issue, but the two don’t necessarily go hand-in-hand.  You are one of the only 10% of sufferers who get treatment. Can you describe the treatment process? I was out of the doctor’s office less than an hour after I’d gone in. I had a Venefit procedure, which is non-invasive, and a lot easier than I thought it was going to be. I spent no time away from family.  [Venefit by Covidien is one of several different treatment options. It uses heat to collapse and seal vein walls, and thus redirects blood to healthy veins. Many insurance companies cover the procedure; without insurance, it can run about $1,000.]  Tell us about Rethink Varicose Veins, the educational campaign by the Society for Vascular Surgery, American Venous Forum, and the American College of Phlebology that you’re helping promote.  The great thing about this program is its cool website. It basically holds your hand and walks you through what varicose veins are, what they look like and can lead to. You can take a self-assessment test, see what your treatment options are, and find a local doctor.  If you could give one piece of advice to similar sufferers, what would it be? As a woman, you need to take control of your health. There’s no harm in going in and getting checked out. Eventually you have to ask yourself: Do I want to live at 100% or 80%?   

Olympian Summer Sanders Talks About Varicose Vein Awareness   Prevention - 46